Internet Technologies of the New Generation

researches in the area of computer networks and internet technologies in Russia, developement of the most breakthrough computer networks technologies of the new generation

QoS management in the Next Generation Networks

One of the most important problems for the networks organization is the distribution of network links capacity among the served traffic flows:
  1. How do we ensure a fair distribution of network resources among its users?
  2. What is the best approach to prioritize traffic of more important applications over less important?
  3. Is it possible to ensure a connection to a given bandwidth, latency and packet loss in a given network environment?
  4. Where is the compromise between the provided quality of connections and the cost of network infrastructure?
  5. How to ensure the maximum efficiency of communication lines and switching equipment?

ARCCN is engaged in a series of projects, trying if not to completely resolve these questions but at least to find a viable solution:

  1. Design and implement of the mechanisms to ensure differential data streams processing on the network switches. ARCCN created modified versions of popular software switches that support not only the basic traffic rate limiting techniques (policing & shaping) and queuing disciplines (PQ, DRR, SRR), but also allow you to build a combination of these approaches, setting up multiple independent processing pipelines for individual data flows at a transport level. ARCCN also provides support of some of these combinations for the network processor.
  2. Explore the methods to ensure connections of the specified quality with a help of centralized resource scheduling. One of the ARCCN directions is to develop advanced applications for SDN controller to increase the efficiency of data transfer across the network with help of the latest achievements in the areas of high-precision monitoring and mathematical modeling of the network state, as well as original algorithms of QoS-aware routing for individual data flows.
  3. Use of multipath routing to multiplex transport layer flows and improve end-to-end connections. ARCCN developed its own implementation of a multipath transport protocol to provide end-to-end connections with a predefined quality by means of the dynamic adaptation in the number subflows involved. This implementation states a core for multipath routing service that can be deployed as a virtual network function.

Internet Technologies of the New Generation

researches in the area of computer networks and internet technologies in Russia, developement of the most breakthrough computer networks technologies of the new generation

Управление QoS в компьютерных сетях нового поколения

Одним из наиболее фундаментальных вопросов организации сетей передачи данных является распределение пропускной способности входящих в её состав линий связи между проходящими через сеть потоками данных:
1. Каким образом обеспечить справедливое распределение ресурсов между пользователями сети?
2. Как добиться приоритетезации трафика более важных приложений над менее важными?
3. Можно ли гарантировать соединение с заданной пропускной способностью, задержкой и уровнем потери пакетов?
4. Где находится компромисс между уровнем качества соединений и стоимостью сетевой инфраструктуры?
5. Как обеспечить максимальную эффективность использования линий связи и коммутационного оборудования?

В ЦПИКС проводится целый ряд работ, которые пытаются если не ответить на указанные вопросы, то, по крайней мере, приблизиться к их решению:
1. Разработка и реализация механизмов обеспечения диффиренцированной обработки потоков данных на коммутаторах сети. В Центре были созданы модифицированные версии популярных программных коммутаторов, которые поддерживают не только базовые методы профилирования трафика (policing & shaping) и дисциплины очередизации (PQ, DRR, SRR), но так же позволяют выстраивать комбинации указанных методов, настраивая множество независимых конвейеров обработки для отдельных потоков данных транспортного уровня. Поддержка некоторых из этих комбинаций была так же реализована на сетевом процессоре.
2. Исследование методов обеспечения соединений заданного качества с помощью централизованного планирования ресурсов. Одним из направлений работы центра является разработка продвинутых управляющих приложений контроллера, которые позволяли бы повысить эффективность передачи данных в масштабах сети за счёт использования последних достижений из областей высокоточного мониторинга и математического моделирования состояния сети, а так же оригинальных алгоритмов маршрутизации потоков данных с учётом их индивидуальных требований QoS.
 3. Использование многопоточной маршрутизации для повышения качества end-to-end соединений. Оригинальной разработкой центра является собственная реализация протокола многопоточной маршрутизации, который поддерживает обеспечение наперёд заданного качества end-to-end соединений за счёт динамического изменения количества и параметров задействованных им подпотоков. В центре ведутся работы по реализации сервиса многопоточной маршрутизации в качестве вирутальной сетевой функции, а так же созданию среды оркестрации для централизованного управления этим сервисом в масштабах сети оператора связи.